Proje Geliştirme ve
Koordinasyon Birimi

2015-12-26 Ukraine: Development of the Controlled Photonic Band Gap Planar Waveguide

 Development of the Controlled Photonic Band Gap Planar Waveguide

Description of the project offered: 
The main idea of the project is to study the possibilities of a combination of well-known microwave planar transmission lines (coplanar, microstrip, etc.), methods for design the photonic band gaps (PBG), using ferrites and semiconductors.
Formation of the PBG in planar microwave transmission lines leads to a change of the transmission spectrum of structure. The frequency dependence of the transmission coefficient for such a structure represents itself a sequence of alternating bands demonstrating almost fully transmission and reflection (with levels of -30 ÷ -40 dB) [1-3]. By modifying the design of the planar waveguide with PBG electromagnetic power can be concentrated in some special point of this waveguide, for the certain arrow frequency band [3-5]. This effect is called the microwave Tamm state.
Implementation into the planar waveguide structure with PBG elements of ferrite can provide to control the transmittance of a planar waveguide by applying the external magnetic field. 
During the project is planned to develop a planar waveguide structure with PBG, into which the ferrite and/or semiconductor elements will be included.
The layered thin film structures will be developed and fabricated be means of electro-chemical, plasma and vacuum technologies.
The usage of semiconductor elements instead magnetic ones in planar waveguides allow to provide high-speed variation of the transmittance by applying the electrical voltage, or the light irradiation intensity.
The combination of these approaches can enable the creation of highly integrated elements of the microwave range based on contemporary technology of semiconductor elements manufacturing. The including in the design of ferrite and semiconductor elements, which provide the formation of photonic band gaps, allow the operative control of the parameters of such microwave elements.
The corresponding theoretical and numerical calculations of the electrodynamics properties of such materials will be carried out.
Project proposer:   
Illia Fedorin (Ukraine)
Partner role:  Project participant 
Partner organisation:  Research
Call for proposal title:  N/A 

Description of the collaboration sought: 
Scientific novelty:
In the course of the research the design of microwave hybrid structures with controlled S-parameters will be developed and investigated. The design of microwave planar waveguides, with the inclusion of the ferrites and/or semiconductors components will be realized. New methods (regimes, composition, etc) of fabricating such structures will be developed. The presence of inclusions of magnetic material and the semiconductor provide the option of electronic control of microwave elements. Thus, their microwave S-parameters should be fast controlled by the magnetic and electric fields, light intensity.
The main objective of design is to create the mostly miniature and effectively controlled microwave planar elements.
The theoretical methodology for the corresponding structures properties analysis will be developed. 

Expected results:
Laboratory models of microwave hybrid structures (consisting form a metal, semiconductor and ferrite elements) with controlled S-parameters.
The results of evaluating the effectiveness of various methods of control S-parameters: magnetic/electric field, optical/IR radiation, the charge/spin injection.
Theoretical models for evaluation of electrodynamics properties of such composites.
New methods of hybrid structures fabrication. 
Expertise sought: Nanotechnology and Nanosciences, Materials technology, Telecommunications, Information processing. Information systems, Electronics. Microelectronics, 
Roles sought: Project participant, Project coordinator, 
Organisation types sought: Research, Education, Industry, Small or medium-sized enterprise (SME), 
Countries sought: Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal,